BNAPS names 17 emeritus members

The British North America Philatelic Society (BNAPS) recently announced its 2020 class of emeritus members.

In 1978, BNAPS’ board of governors created an emeritus membership program for members who have been with the society for 35 consecutive years and are aged 75 or older.

A decade later, the criteria for emeritus membership was updated to remove the age requirement and increase the membership requirement from 35 to 40 years. From 1988-93, members who met either set of criteria were accepted as emeritus members; however, since 1993, the 40-year rule has prevailed.

Emeritus members have “all the rights, privileges and benefits of regular members, without having any more dues levied or collected,” according to BNAPS officials.

This year’s emeritus members include:

  • James Bracken;
  • Bill Burden;
  • Andrew Chung;
  • John Dale;
  • William Day;
  • Shirley Frick;
  • Raynald Gendron;
  • Rodrigue Levesque;
  • David Marasco;
  • Hymie Mida;
  • Tim Morgan;
  • Glenn Playter;
  • Peter Skwarczynski;
  • Robert Soper;
  • Mike Street;
  • James Watt; and
  • Ted Wright.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Stamp News


Canadian Stamp News is Canada's premier source of information about stamp collecting and related fields.

Although we cover the entire world of philatelics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Stamp News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier stamp publication. Canadian Stamp News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now