APS announces 2016 election results

The American Philatelic Society (APS) announced yesterday the results of the officers’ elections for APS Board of Directors and American Philatelic Research Library (APRL) Board of Trustees.

At stake for the APS were 10 of the 11 board positions. Current APS President Stephen Reinhard, who opted not to run for re-election, will assume the position of immediate past president. That position is currently occupied by former APS President Wade Saadi, who will leave the board in August of this year. For the offices up for election, terms begin on Aug. 6, 2016 following the general membership meeting to be held in Portland, Ore., at the 2016 StampShow. The terms will expire in 2019.

For the APRL, two trustee positions were contested to replace outgoing Trustee Bruce Marsden; a candidate for APS Treasurer; and the position currently held by Steven Zwillinger, who joined the board in August 2015 to serve in an interim position. There also was a founder/patron trustee position to replace outgoing Trustee Stephen Schumann, a candidate for APS secretary.  For the offices up for election, terms begin on Aug. 5, 2016 at the annual meeting of the APRL Board of Trustees to be held in Portland. The terms will expire in 2022.

Total number of ballots cast in the election was 3,961, and 3,951 were declared valid.  In the 2013 elections, a total of 4,710 were cast and 4,695 were found valid.

The election results were certified by APS members: Debbie Cleeton; Bill Lehr; and Richard Nakles, who served as the Board of Elections for the 2016 Elections. Members of the Woodycrest United Methodist Church in State College, Penn., also assisted in counting ballots again for the 2016 election.

Ballots were included in the May 2016 issue of The American Philatelist and mailed directly to members who do not receive the magazine.

The results are as follows:

APS President

Name Location Votes % of total ballots
*Mick Zais Columbia, SC 2,016 51.7%
Ken Nilsestuen Akron, OH 1,882 48.2%
Other 3 0.1%

APS Board of Vice President (run as a team of 3)

*Patricia Kaufmann Lincoln, DE    
*Jeff Shapiro Fayville, MA 2,220 56.9%
*Robert Zeigler Indianapolis, IN    
John Barwis Holland, MI
Alex Haimann St. Louis, MO 1,676 43%
Yamil Kouri Lexington, MA
Other 4 0.1%

APS Secretary

*Stephen Schumann Hayward, CA 2,151 55.9%
Mark Butterline Maynard, MA 1,698 44.1%

APS Treasurer

*Bruce Marsden Short Hills, NJ 2,306 59.8%
Edwin Andrews Chapel Hill, NC 1,549 40.2%

APS Director-at-Large (Four Open Seats)

% of Total Ballots

*Peter McCann University Park, FL 3,049 77.2%
*Mark Schwartz Philadelphia, PA 2,748 70%
*Rich Drews Palatine, IL 2,724 68.9%
*Michael Bloom Portland, OR 2,627 66.5%
Gordon Eubanks Pebble Beach, CA 2,583 65.4%
Other 8

APRL Board of Trustees

APS Member-elected (Two Open Seats)

% of Total Ballots
*Steven Zwillinger Silver Spring, MD 2,915 73.8%
*Kristin Patterson San Jose, CA 2,777 70.3%
Mark Banchik Great Neck, NY 1,322 33.5%
Other 4

APRL Founder/Patron (Elected by Founders, Patrons, and Fellows of the APRL)

*Hugh Lawrence Encinitas, CA 36

Leave a Reply

Canadian Stamp News


Canadian Stamp News is Canada's premier source of information about stamp collecting and related fields.

Although we cover the entire world of philatelics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Stamp News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier stamp publication. Canadian Stamp News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now