A moment of silence…

Twenty-five former members of The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada (RPSC) were posthumously honoured with a moment of silence at this year’s convention, held Aug. 19-21 in Kitchener-Waterloo, Ont.

At the society’s annual general meeting, held Aug. 20, Vice President Rod Paige acknowledged RPSC members who died between May 2015 and July 2016. They include:

  • Dr. John Anders, of Barrie, Ont.;
  • Hendrik Burgers, of Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont.;
  • Dr. Martha Cohen, of Calgary, Alta.;
  • Gary Collins, of Uxbridge, Ont.;
  • Graham Cooper, of Nassau, Bahamas;
  • Wayne Curtis, of Oakville, Ont.;
  • Dr. Grant Eckert, of North York, Ont.;
  • Chris Edwards, of Etobicoke, Ont.;
  • Ted Gieruszczak, of Don Mills, Ont.;
  • Edward Grainger, of Gatineau, Que.;
  • Trevor Grey-Dreaper, of Penticton, B.C.;
  • Anthony Harris, Glastow, Ont.;
  • Jean Lafontaine, FRPSC, of Boucherville, Que.;
  • George Mayo, of Mississauga, Ont.;
  • John Moran, of Colby, Ohio;
  • Richard Oppel, of Edmond, Oklahoma;
  • John Palmar, of Edmonton, Alta.;
  • Gordon Payne, of Etobicoke, Ont.;
  • Robert Poulin, of Victoria, B.C.;
  • George Shepherd, of Guelph, Ont.;
  • Gary Sherman, of Edmonton, Alta.;
  • Victor Skidra, of Toronto, Ont.;
  • Hans Steinbock, of Niagara Falls, Ont.; and
  • George Walford, of Etobicoke, Ont.

“We cherish their memory in our hearts,” added Paige.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Stamp News


Canadian Stamp News is Canada's premier source of information about stamp collecting and related fields.

Although we cover the entire world of philatelics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Stamp News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier stamp publication. Canadian Stamp News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now