A moment of silence…

Ten former members of The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada (RPSC) were remembered with a moment of silence at this year’s Royal Convention in Boucherville, Qué.

During the society’s annual general meeting on May 27, outgoing RPSC Vice-President Rodney Paige acknowledged the 10 late members who died since the previous AGM in August 2016. They include:

  • Lloyd S. Archibald;
  • Robert L. Burton;
  • Gene Henry Carpenter;
  • Edward J. Dydo;
  • Jim Harrison;
  • Raymond W. Ireson., who was named a Fellow of The RPSC in 2006;
  • Ed Matthews;
  • Alice Rosborough;
  • Shirley Geldert-Shorter; and
  • Lloyd Slaven, of Laval, Qué.

“We cherish their memory in our hearts,” added Paige following the moment of silence.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Stamp News


Canadian Stamp News is Canada's premier source of information about stamp collecting and related fields.

Although we cover the entire world of philatelics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Stamp News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier stamp publication. Canadian Stamp News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now