ATA Distinguished Topical Philatelist nominees sought

The American Topical Association (ATA) is accepting nominations for its highest honour, the Distinguished Topical Philatelist.

The ATA presents the annual award to a person who has made “outstanding contributions to philately, especially topical philately,” according to President Dawn Hamman.

It will be presented during the awards banquet at the Great American Stamp Show in Cleveland, Ohio, on Aug. 12, 2023.

Individuals, study units, chapters and stamp clubs may nominate a person, and a committee of past winners will select the recipient. All nominations must be sent to selection committee chair Vera Felts at or by mail to 211 Petal Lane, Sequim, WA 98382-3612. The nomination deadline is Dec. 31.

Four Canadians have won the honour since its establishment in 1952 – Edgar Spurgeon in 1961, Alan Hanks in 1985, Betty Killingbeck in 1988 and Katherine Kirk in 2002.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Stamp News


Canadian Stamp News is Canada's premier source of information about stamp collecting and related fields.

Although we cover the entire world of philatelics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Stamp News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier stamp publication. Canadian Stamp News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now