New exhibitors highlight Novapex

New and novice exhibitors were out in full force at the national-level exhibition Novapex 2018, which was held this September in Dartmouth, N.S.

“As a jury member, some statistics stood out for this show,” said judge Sam Chiu, vice-president of The Royal Philatelic Society of Canada (RPSC), who added 18 of 38 exhibitors were “new exhibitors” while an additional 12 were “novice exhibitors.”

The organizing committee was “very hard at work convincing new exhibitors to enter into their first national-level competition and also experienced exhibitors to show their new exhibits for the first time at this show,” Chiu added.

“This makes me to come to the conclusion that exhibiting is very healthy and growing in the Atlantic provinces.”

Loic Detcheverry won the Ken MacDonald Postal History Award.


Long-time exhibit Jean-Jacques Tillard won the Grand Award for his exhibit “Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, le Type ‘Groupe’ 1892-1908” as well as the One-Frame Grand Award for his exhibit “Saint-Pierre et Miquelon, le 2F ‘croix de Langlade’ de 1947.”

The Reserve Grand Award went to Gary Steele for his exhibit “Canadian Dead Letter Office Handstamps,” which also won the Best British North America Postal History Award; the American Philatelic Society Award of Excellence 1900-1940; the Best Multi-Frame British North America Exhibit Award; and the American Topical Association Silver Medal.

Brainard Fitzgerald won the George MacKenzie Aerophilately Award for his exhibit “Give Wings to Your Mail” while Loic Detcheverry won the Ken MacDonald Postal History Award for his exhibit “Cancellations of the Canadian Province of Nova Scotia on Saint-Pierre and Miquelon Stamps.”

Detcheverry also won the American Association of Philatelic Exhibitors Award of Excellence and The RPSC Award of Excellence for Title Page and Synopsis.


Another exhibition highlight was the single-frame team competition, which saw three teams go head to head in five different classes.

The British North America Philatelic Society Atlantic Region Group Team (consisting of Sean Weatherup, John Hall, Doreen Fitzgerald, Jim Graham and Guy Jeffrey) won the single-frame team competition and took home the Dave Cooper Memorial Trophy.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Stamp News


Canadian Stamp News is Canada's premier source of information about stamp collecting and related fields.

Although we cover the entire world of philatelics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Stamp News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier stamp publication. Canadian Stamp News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now