2019 Pratt Award goes to trio of writers

A pair of Canadian philatelists plus another from the United States received the 2019 Col. Robert H. Pratt Award from the Collectors Club of Chicago (CCC).

The Pratt Award, established by the CCC in 1997, is awarded annually to the author of the best article, series of articles, book or electronic presentation related to Newfoundland philately.

This year, the recipients were recognized for articles published in BNA Topics and The Canadian Philatelist, the bimonthly journals of the British North America Philatelic Society and Royal Philatelic Society of Canada, respectively. Julian Goldberg and John Walsh received the honour for co-authoring “Newfoundland 1887 ½¢ Dog: a Detailed Study of its Correct Release Date and Other Discoveries,” published in the second quarter 2019 issue of BNA Topics.

While it’s Goldberg’s first Pratt Award, it’s the fifth time Walsh has received the honour.

Clarence Stillions, of Washington, D.C., was awarded for “The Blitz Stamps of Newfoundland,” published in the October 2019 issue of The Canadian Philatelist.

The Pratt Award namesake is Milwaukee, Wisc.’s Robert H. Pratt, the pre-eminent Newfoundland stamp and postal history collector, researcher and author. A $1,000 US honorarium is awarded annually in its entirety to one author (or pro-rated to two or more authors).

Leave a Reply

Canadian Stamp News


Canadian Stamp News is Canada's premier source of information about stamp collecting and related fields.

Although we cover the entire world of philatelics, the majority of our readers are Canadian, and we concentrate on the unique circumstances surrounding collecting in our native land.

Send Us Your Event

Running an event? Send it to us and we will display it on Canadian Stamp News!

Submit Event →

Subscribe To 26 Issues For Just $59.99/year

Subscribe today to receive Canada's premier stamp publication. Canadian Stamp News is available in both paper and digital forms.

Subscribe Now